

ESC BOARD

2024-2026

President

Thomas Lüscher

President-Elect

Cecilia Linde

Past-President

Franz Weidinger

Secretary/Treasurer Stephan Windecker

Vice-Presidents

Carlos Aquiar Christian Hassager

Susanna Price

Advisors

To be appointed

Councillors

Filippo Crea

Stefan James

Felix Mahfoud

Communication

Theresa McDonagh

Education and Professional Development

Marco Roffi

Declaration of Interests

Membership

Maria Rubini

Association Representatives

Ingo Ahrens (ACVC)

Ana Areu (EAPC)

Alaide Chieffo (EAPCI)

Victoria Delgado (EACVI)

Leonie Klompstra (ACNAP)

Marco Metra (HFA)

Helmut Puererfellner (EHRA)

Non-voting Committee Chairs

Folkert Asselbergs

Digital Cardiology & Artificial Intelligence

Margarita Brida

Scientific Documents

Fielder Camm

Young Cardiovascular Professionals

Tomasz Guzik

Ulf Landmesser

Clinical Practice Guidelines

Lis Neubeck

Patient Forum

Piotr Szymanski Regulatory Affairs

Non-voting Think Tank Chair

Hugo Katus Innovation

Chief Executive Officer

Jean-François Riffaud

Chief Financial Officer

Nathalie Lefebyre

Board Secretary

Marielle Bigolet

escboard@escardio.org

Sophia Antipolis, 20 January 2025

Dear Colleague,

Preparations for ESC Congress 2025 (29 August - 1 September 2025) are well under way. As you know, every year the ESC invites research-active clinicians and scientists who have made outstanding original contributions to their field to present ESC Named Lectures and rewards individuals who have made life-long exceptional contributions to cardiology with the ESC Gold Medal.

It is now the time for you to discuss with your National Cardiac Society Board, Association Board or Council/Working Group Nucleus members, the proposals of your ESC Constituent Body for the 2025 Gold Medal and suggestions for presenters of the six 2025 ESC Named Lectures.

The ESC Named Lectures include:

ESC William Harvey Lecture in Basic Science

ESC Andreas Grüntzig Lecture in Interventional Cardiology

ESC Geoffrey Rose Lecture in Population Sciences

ESC Rene Laennec Lecture in Clinical Cardiology

ESC Paul Hugenholtz Lecture in Innovation (professionals from environments other than academia may be proposed for this lecture)

ESC Florence Nightingale Lecture in Nurse-Led Research

We attach two lists of previous ESC Named Lecturers and of Gold Medal awardees from 1972 to 2024.

Please note that

- ✓ your constituent body can make one proposal per award;
- ✓ one individual cannot be nominated for the same award twice or for more than one award;
- ✓ the nominee cannot be a current ESC Board member or a Past-President of the ESC.

Thank you in advance for sending us your proposals by using the online form, before Sunday 9 February.

With my very best wishes,

Professor Franz Weidinger ESC Immediate Past President

Our mission: To reduce the burden of cardiovascular disease.

Headquarters: The European Heart House - Les Templiers - 2035, Route des Colles - CS 80179 BIOT - 06903 Sophia Antipolis Cedex - France Tel. +33 (0)4 92 94 76 00 - escardio.org